You are here
Home > LATEST NEWS > Historical Victory

Historical Victory


Sri Lankan cricket team bagged the championship by winning the test series against Australia with the victory of the third and final test played at the SSC Grounds.

For the first time in Sri Lankan cricket history they made a clean sweep against Australia, the number 1 ranked test  side in the world, beating them by 163 runs.

The Aussies who were chasing 323 for victory on the final were bowled out for 160 before tea. Rangana Herath making a stellar contribution to the victory took a match bag 13 wickets, of which 7 were in the second innings.

Sri Lanka beat Australia by 163 runs in the final test to win their first ever series against Australia in 17 years.

Sri Lanka’s Rangana Herath finished as the leading wicket taker by picking up 28 at an average 12.75.

Australia lost 9 wickets in their second innings for 60 runs in 18 overs after the opening stand of David Warner and Shaun Marsh was broken for 77.

165 Total Views 1 Views Today

Leave a Reply