You are here
Home > LATEST NEWS > All SLFP JO MPs resign from their positions as organizers

All SLFP JO MPs resign from their positions as organizers

All parliamentarians of the Joint Opposition attached to the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) are to be stepped down from their positions as district and electoral organizers  and their resignations letters would be sent to the leadership of the party within the next few days, MP Keheliya Rumbukwella said.

MPs Dullas Alahapperuma and Bandula Gunawardena announced their decisions to resign from organizer posts in Matara and Homagama, stating that their resignation letters would be sent to President Maithripala Sirisena today.

Rambukwella said the rest of the JO members would also follow the same line.

SLFP MPs Mahindananda Aluthgamage, Kumara Welgama, Dr. Ramesh Pathirana, Mohan de Silva, Lohan Ratwatte, Johnston Fernando, Vidura Wickremanayake, Ranjith de Zoysa and Janaka Wakkumbura will resign from district and electoral organiser ranks in the coming few days.

This decision comes in the wake of President Maithripala Sirisena appointing 40 new district and electoral organizers as a part of the restructuring process of the party.

Mean time, the JO sent a letter to Speaker Karu Jayasuriya last week asking to recognize them as Independent MPs in the Opposition, Rambukwella said all 51 JO MPs signed this letter.

He said the JO meeting convened today would take several crucial decisions including that of their decision to be independent MPs in Parliament. Asked whether they would also claim for the post of Opposition Leader, the MP said it would also be discussed but added the JO should win their due rights and privileges in Parliament before claiming on that position.

153 Total Views 1 Views Today

Leave a Reply