You are here
Home > LATEST NEWS > Five member committee to advise on national heroes declaration

Five member committee to advise on national heroes declaration

Acting on the instructions of President Maithripala Sirisena, Justice Minister Dr Wijayadasa Rajapakshe has appointed a five member committee headed by Emeritus Professor (Mrs) Malani Endagama to make recommendations to the Government regarding steps to be taken to declare the leaders of the 1818 and 1848 rebellions against British Colonial rulers as National heroes.

The other members of the committee are Prof K N O Dharmadasa, Senior Prof Anura Manatunge of the Kelaniya University Archaeology Department, former Director General of the Archives Department Dr K D Wimalaratne and Dr Pradeep Weerasinghe. They will study the gazette notifications issued by the colonial rulers naming them as traitors and other information before submitting their recommendations to Minister Rajapakshe.

Any persons or organizations which have researched information relating to the families of this national heroes are requested to forward any information in their possession for consideration of the committee to the Secretary, Ministry of Justice Superior Courts Complex, Colombo 12 to reach him on or before 20-2-17 or on email

156 Total Views 1 Views Today

Leave a Reply